2 July > Concerts > Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020

Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020

The Power Of Nature

Thursday, 2 July 2020

Start: 9 p.m.
Place: Audi museum mobile
Moderation: Alexander Mazza


Alice Sara Ott (piano)
Lisa Batiashvili (violin)
Antoine Tamestit (viola)
Maximilian Hornung (cello)
Nabil Shehata (double bass)
Katja Riemann (reader)

Artist biographies:


Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828), piano quintet in A major, D 667, Trout Quintet
“In a bright brook” – literary variations on the trout. A musical reading

What happens when five stars of classical music come together in a car museum to play a Trout Quintet for the whole world amongst historic vehicles? Live and in real time, this will be something that you have never heard or seen before. The German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott, who comes from Munich and regularly delights her audiences with piano pyrotechnics from which “legends arise” (The Guardian), meets the violinist Lisa Batiashvili, who is no less acclaimed for her virtuosity and musicality. They are joined by Antoine Tamestit, one of the world’s leading viola players of our time, the highly sensitive and technically perfect virtuoso cellist Maximilian Hornung and the double-bassist Nabil Shehata.

With their concentrated virtuoso power, this top quintet – which has never played before in this combination – reinvents classics such as Schubert’s Trout Quintet. Not only in musical terms! No less a performer than Katja Riemann, one of the most remarkable German actors and artists, will give a literary interpretation of the work in parallel with the music. In short films shown between the movements of the quintet, Riemann will transport The Trout, which derives from a poem by Christian Friedrich Daniel Schubart (1739–1791), from the Romantic age to the present day. In Schubart’s lifetime arose a longing for the authentic origins of nature, for its untamed wildness and solitude. And today? What can The Trout tell us at the present time about the power of nature?

Hear and see it for yourself – in a musical and literary experiment!

Photo credits:

Katja Riemann: © Mirjam Knickriem/photoselection
Alice Sara Ott: © Jonas Becker
Lisa Batiashvili: © André Josselin/Deutsche Grammophon
Antoine Tamestit: © Julien Mignot
Maximilian Hornung: © Marco Borggreve
Nabil Shehata: © Stephan Zwickirsch