5 July > Concerts > Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020

Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020

Together For Music

Sunday, 5 July 2020

Start: 8 p.m.
Place: Employee assembly hall B/GVZ
Moderation: Alexander Mazza


Camerata Salzburg
Lisa Batiashvili (violin)
Maximilian Hornung (cello)
François Leleux (conductor)

Artist biographies:


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975) Concerto for cello and orchestra no. 1, op. 107
Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809) Symphony no. 101 in D major, The Clock
Lisa Batiashvili plays pieces from her new CD, City Lights, with the Camerata Salzburg.

In the middle of the coronavirus crisis, as an unaccustomed silence began to spread around the world, five gifted artists sent out a sign of solidarity from the Audi production hall in Ingolstadt. In a place where, at other times, a metal press quietly and constantly hums, on 14 April the sound of classical music filled the space. At this concert, which was streamed all over the world, Lisa Batiashvili, François Leleux, Maximilian Hornung and two other musicians achieved “something almost incredible: they conveyed hope, meaning, optimism and culture under the most difficult circumstances” (Donaukurier newspaper). More than a quarter of a million people around the globe watched live as they broke the silence with their love of music. To conclude the Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020, we will see these three exceptional artists again. This time they are accompanied by the Camerata Salzburg, one of the regular ensembles at the Salzburg Festival. With a program ranging from Shostakovich to Haydn they will overcome boundaries once again. To connect the world through music is the goal shared by these musicians gathered around Lisa Batiashvili, the artistic director of the Audi Sommerkonzerte, who will also present pieces from her new CD, City Lights.

Together For Music! Let the grand finale of the Audi Sommerkonzerte 2020 delight you once again, and enjoy music of the highest caliber in your own home.

Photo credits:

Lisa Batiashvili: © André Josselin/Deutsche Grammophon
Camerata Salzburg: © piaclodi
François Leleux: © Jean-Baptiste Millot
Maximilian Hornung: © Marco Borggreve